Go Back   David Icke's Official Forums > Main Forums > General Chat
Register FAQ Chat Social Groups Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2013, 04:02 PM   #1
Mr Happy
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,110
Default Anyone else finding Firefox becoming unusable?

You boot up and everything is fine and then as your session progresses it just begins to consume more and more memory until your whole system is shit and you need to reboot?
Mr Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:08 PM   #2
lu__
Senior Member
 
lu__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrunhappy View Post
You boot up and everything is fine and then as your session progresses it just begins to consume more and more memory until your whole system is shit and you need to reboot?
I had to stop using it a few months ago, it was taking about 5 seconds to load a page. Try dumping any cache and running c-cleaner if you're running bill gates malware os.
__________________
The Ultimate History Lesson: A Weekend with John Taylor Gatto.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQiW_l848t8
lu__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:09 PM   #3
colshols
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Yeah - I'm finding FF hogs resources more and more so I'm tending to use Chrome - it also helps I can sync Chrome with my android tablet.
colshols is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:11 PM   #4
forrest22
Senior Member
 
forrest22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,143
Default

YES me too
but what is the alternative? i tried google chrome i found it worst than firefox
forrest22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:13 PM   #5
darkishcloud
Senior Member
 
darkishcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 619
Default

On my Windows laptop Firefox does have issues like the ones you describe.
However, on my Linux Ubuntu PC, Firefox has no issues whatsoever.
My advice, always use Linux and never use Windows.
darkishcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:14 PM   #6
lu__
Senior Member
 
lu__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by forrest22 View Post
YES me too
but what is the alternative? i tried google chrome i found it worst than firefox
Linux, OSX....
__________________
The Ultimate History Lesson: A Weekend with John Taylor Gatto.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQiW_l848t8
lu__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:16 PM   #7
mithios
Senior Member
 
mithios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,287
Default

Do you already have adblock plus? If you don't - install it. It speeds Firefox up greatly (as well as being useful full stop).

Firefox is fine for me (I have pretty big internal RAM though) but it's adobe flashplayer causing all the problems and making pages hang and freeze up. I hate that thing. I wish there was an alternative.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lu__ View Post
I had to stop using it a few months ago, it was taking about 5 seconds to load a page.
Five tiny little seconds? Hahaha I guess you never used dial up xD
__________________
"It's hard to hold the hand of anyone who's reaching for the sky just to surrender..."
mithios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:20 PM   #8
lu__
Senior Member
 
lu__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mithios View Post
Five tiny little seconds? Hahaha I guess you never used dial up xD
Lol, not in a few years, it's not like dial up though, there's nothing for 5 seconds and then it loads all at once.
__________________
The Ultimate History Lesson: A Weekend with John Taylor Gatto.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQiW_l848t8
lu__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:26 PM   #9
mithios
Senior Member
 
mithios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,287
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lu__ View Post
Lol, not in a few years, it's not like dial up though, there's nothing for 5 seconds and then it loads all at once.
That's what Internet Explorer does to me. As well as being like THE gateway to virus and malware >_<

Now I'm sitting here timing all my page loads >_>
__________________
"It's hard to hold the hand of anyone who's reaching for the sky just to surrender..."
mithios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:30 PM   #10
Mr Happy
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,110
Default

Just downloaded an app that clears the cache.. seems to help...
Mr Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:41 PM   #11
blue eagke
Senior Member
 
blue eagke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 438
Default

Anyone used Opera recently? I seem to remember using it in the late 90's.

http://www.opera.com/browser/

Last edited by blue eagke; 10-02-2013 at 04:42 PM.
blue eagke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:43 PM   #12
lu__
Senior Member
 
lu__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue eagke View Post
Anyone used Opera recently? I seem to remember using it in the late 90's.

http://www.opera.com/browser/
Yeah, didn't like it.
__________________
The Ultimate History Lesson: A Weekend with John Taylor Gatto.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQiW_l848t8
lu__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:59 PM   #13
evilc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 851
Default

Remember JAVA is still not safe and should be disabled .

I don`t know if oracle intend fixing it properly but until they do disable it in all browsers or you will find out the hard way. I kid you Not

I`ve also removed the updater from my startup sequence just in case it tries to reinstall itself.

Last edited by evilc; 10-02-2013 at 05:00 PM.
evilc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:06 PM   #14
Mr Happy
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilc View Post
Remember JAVA is still not safe and should be disabled .

I don`t know if oracle intend fixing it properly but until they do disable it in all browsers or you will find out the hard way. I kid you Not

I`ve also removed the updater from my startup sequence just in case it tries to reinstall itself.
What is the danger exactly?
Mr Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:09 PM   #15
blp02
Senior Member
 
blp02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wales
Posts: 747
Default

Could it be an add-on extension causing issues? Try disabling them one at a time. I've had problem with FF in the past but right now I'm on 18.0.2 and it's fast with 5 extensions enabled and usually 6 or 7 tabs open. I am on a custom version of XP though, don't know if that would make a huge difference.
blp02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:11 PM   #16
blp02
Senior Member
 
blp02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wales
Posts: 747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilc View Post
Remember JAVA is still not safe and should be disabled .

I don`t know if oracle intend fixing it properly but until they do disable it in all browsers or you will find out the hard way. I kid you Not

I`ve also removed the updater from my startup sequence just in case it tries to reinstall itself.
That might explain my last install, less than 6 months old freezing up within seconds of getting to the desktop, I had to fresh install. From what I read I think it was a corrupted user profile?
blp02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:12 PM   #17
Mr Happy
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blp02 View Post
Could it be an add-on extension causing issues? Try disabling them one at a time. I've had problem with FF in the past but right now I'm on 18.0.2 and it's fast with 5 extensions enabled and usually 6 or 7 tabs open. I am on a custom version of XP though, don't know if that would make a huge difference.
It seems to be working well now with this Ramback and fasterfox add-ons...

What add ons do you use?
Mr Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:14 PM   #18
saty
Senior Member
 
saty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,920
Default

doesn't work for me anymore.
I switched to Black Hawk Browser, works better than mozilla,opera,chrome and internet explorer COMBINED.

You can download it here
http://blackhawk_web_browser.en.softonic.com/
__________________
The separate limited existence of living matter is just an illusion, a passing dream...

Ecclesiastes 11:7 "The light is sweet, and it is delightful for the eyes to see the sun"

Last edited by saty; 10-02-2013 at 05:16 PM.
saty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:15 PM   #19
evilc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrunhappy View Post
What is the danger exactly?
There was a security loophole that adware,malware Hyjack creeps had found that more or less enable them to install low level Virae and worms like rootkits and browser diverters.

I had the one that Played random Radio Clips and grabbed control of browser like Popups on steroids . If they can do this then they can get a keylogger in and then you are completely open to fraud on all levels. Just disable Java until oracle can guarantee it and also run a proper virus check including bootblocks.
evilc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:17 PM   #20
Mr Happy
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,110
Default

Just disabled ramback.. installed memoryfox instead.. this seems to be an amazing app! anyone try it? reduces memory usage considerably....
Mr Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:39 PM.